Skip to content

Home > International > China

China

Mountain Ecosystem Management

Issues

ZAAJ covers research on mid-altitude mountain areas from the colline to the subalpine zones. A number of areas of western China are confronted with managing such altitudinal socio-ecosystems and address issues of conservation biology and public health. These zones range from humid tropical forest to ‘alpine’ grassland of the Tibetan plateau and mountains of the north-west (Tien Shan, Altai, etc.).

Since 1994, international programmes have studied the ecology of alveolar echinococcosis transmission in upland zones of western China, in a multidisciplinary context, by methods developed in ZAAJ The research has been conducted jointly with the medical universities of Ningxia, Xinjiang, Gansu and the Sichuan disease control centre. Research has contributed to the implementation of a national action plan, across China, for the control of echinococcoses.

The "Wildlife management and ecosystem health" laboratory was set up in 2012 at the Yunnan University of Finance and Economics, with the support of the Chrono-Environment research unit and the Institut Universitaire de France. Through special conventions, the laboratory has secured access to research stations in a number of major natural reserves as at Gao Li Gong Shan (2300 m asl), Tacheng (3000 m asl) and Bai Ma Shue Shan (3900 m asl).

 On the way to the Bai Ma Shue Shan research station

All of the laboratories involved in this research are brought together within the International research network "Ecosystem health and environmental disease ecology" (IRN/GDRI EHEDE). These are primarily the Chrono-Environment and THéMA laboratories of the University of Franche-Comté/CNRS, the University of Salford (UK), the medical universities of Ningxia (China) and Asahikawa (Japan), Yunnan University of Finance and Economics (China), Sichuan Disease Control Centre (China) and the Australian National University, Camberra, and their partners.

Current Programmes

Rhinopithecus bietiApplication of graph theory to the conservation of the Yunnan snub-nosed monkey. This primate was made known to the world of science in 1887 when it was described by Alphonse Milne-Edwards, of the French Natural History Museum, Paris, and dedicated to Monseigneur Félix Biet, a French missionary and vicar apostolic of "Thibet". Hence its Latin name Rhinopithecus bieti. The species remained almost unknown until the 1990s. The Yunnan snub-nosed monkey lives in one of the most extreme environments of all non-human primates. It forms 15 isolated populations, totalling fewer than 3000 individuals, in the Yun-Ling mountains between the Mekong and the Yang-Tse-Kiang, in north-western Yunnan and south-eastern Tibet. The species lives in high altitude evergreen forests between 3000 and 4700 m asl. Given the scale and the difficult access to these regions, it may be that not all the populations have been discovered. Evaluation is underway of the habitats favourable to the species and the threats to it. Their connectivity on various scales is being explored with Graphab software developed by ThéMA and tested on models studied in ZAAJ (water vole, etc.) in collaboration with the Chrono-Environment research unit.

Characterisation of ecosystems of alveolar echinococcosis transmission in Eurasia.
From continental to subnational scales, alveolar echniococcosis, a deadly parasitic disease for humans, is distributed in patches within which transmission hot spots may occur. By combining data on climate, land use and host species communities, a number of transmission systems have been identified, characterised by a ‘flagship’ species. Each of these systems, inspired by types of functioning observed in ZAAJ, presents its own characteristics, which serve as benchmarks for detailed research on the processes involved and for identifying other types of transmission systems in Eurasia and reasoning on monitoring and intervention systems.

Transmission systems of Echinococcus multilocularis and their flagship species (Giraudoux et al. 2013)



Human and wild elephant conflicts






Read more...

R&D in Indonesia...







Contact: Patrick Giraudoux
Chrono-environnement laboratory- University of Franche-Comté

Skip to content

Accueil > International > Chine

Chine

Gestion des écosystèmes de montagne

Problématique

La ZAAJ regroupe des recherches sur les zones de moyenne altitude de l’étage collinéen à l’étage subalpin. Un certain nombre de régions de Chine de l’ouest sont confrontées à la gestion de tels types de socio-écosystèmes d’altitude et engagent des questions de biologie de la conservation et de santé publique. Ces zones s’étagent de la forêt tropicale humide aux prairies "alpines" du plateau tibétain et des montagnes du nord-ouest (Tien Shan, Altai, etc.).

Depuis 1994, des programme internationaux permettent d’étudier l’écologie de la transmission de l’échinococcose alvéolaire dans les zones d’altitude de l ’ouest de la Chine, dans un contexte pluridisciplinaire, par des méthodes mises au point dans la ZAAJ. Ces recherches sont conduites en collaboration avec les Universités médicales du Ningxia, du Xinjiang, du Gansu, et le Centre de contrôle des maladies (CDC) du Sichuan. Elles ont contribué à la mise en place d’un plan national d’action, à l’échelle de la Chine, pour le contrôle des échinococcoses.

Un laboratoire de recherche "Gestion de la faune sauvage et santé des écosystèmes" a été créé en 2012 à l’Université des finances et de l’économie du Yunnan, avec le soutien de l’UMR Chrono-environnement et de l’Institut Universitaire de France. Par des conventions spécifiques, ce laboratoire s’est attaché l’accès à des stations de recherche, situées dans un certain nombre de grandes réserves naturelles telles celle des Gao Li Gong Shan (2300 m alt), Tacheng (3000 m alt.), et Bai Ma Shue Shan (3900 m alt.).

Sur le chemin de la Station de recherche de Bai Ma Shue Shan

L’ensemble des laboratoires concernés par ces recherches sont regroupés au sein du Groupement de recherche international (GDRI) Ecosystem health and environmental disease ecology. Il s’agit principalement de laboratoires Chrono-environnement et THéMA des universités de Franche-Comté/CNRS, de Salford (UK), des université médicales du Ningxia (Chine) et d’Asahikawa (Japon), de l’université des finances et de l’économie du Yunnan (Chine), du centre de contrôle des maladies du Sichuan (Chine), et de l’université nationale australienne, Camberra, et de leurs partenaires.

Programmes en cours

Rhinopithecus bietiApplication de la théorie des graphes à la conservation du Rhinopithèque de Biet. Ce rhinopithèque a été découvert au monde scientifique en 1887, année où il a été décrit par Alphonse Milne-Edwards, du Museum d’Histoire Naturelle, et dédié à Mgr Félix Biet, missionnaire français et vicaire apostolique du « Thibet ». D’où le nom latin Rhinopithecus bieti. Depuis, l’espèce était restée presque complétement inconnue jusque dans les années 1990. Le Rhinopithèque de Biet vit dans un des environnements les plus extrêmes de tous les primates non humains. Il constitue 15 populations isolées, totalisant moins de 3000 individus, dans les montagnes du YunLing, entre le Mekong et le Yang-Tse-Kiang, au nord-ouest du Yunnan et au sud-est du Tibet. Cette espèce vit dans les forêts sempervirentes de haute altitude, entre 3000 et 4700 m. Compte-tenu de l’étendue et des difficultés d’accès à ces régions, il est possible que toutes les populations ne soient pas encore découvertes. L’évaluation des habitats favorables à l’espèce et des menaces est en cours. Leur connectivité à des échelles variées est explorée à l’aide du logiciel Graphab développé par l’UMR THéMA et testé sur des modèles étudiés dans la ZAAJ (campagnol terrestre, etc.) en collaboration avec l’UMR Chrono-environnement.

Caractérisation des écosystèmes de transmission de l’échinocoque alvéolaire en Eurasie. Des échelles continentales à régionales, l’échinococose alvéolaire, une maladie parasitaire mortelle pour l’homme, est distribuée en taches discontinues au sein desquelles des « points chauds » de transmission peuvent émerger. En combinant des données climatiques, d’occupation du sol et de communautés des espèces d’hôtes, un certain nombre de systèmes de transmission ont été identifiés, caractérisés par une espèce « porte drapeau ». Chacun de ces systèmes, inspirés des types de fonctionnement observés dans la ZAAJ, présente ses propres caractéristiques, qui servent de référence pour une recherche détaillée sur les processus en cause, et pour identifier d’autres types de systèmes de transmission en Eurasie et raisonner des systèmes de surveillance et d’intervention.

Systèmes de transmission de l'échinocoque alvéolaire et ses espèces porte drapeau (Giraudoux et al. 2013)


Conflits entre humains et éléphants sauvages






Voir aussi...

Des éléphants et des hommes...
R&D in Indonesia...




Contact : Patrick Giraudoux
Chrono-environnement - Université de Franche-Comté