Skip to content

Home > Research themes > Observatories and modelling

Observatories and modelling

Issues

The research developed in the LTER site Jurassian Arc (ZAAJ) is characterised by the diversity of scope and the temporal and spatial resolutions considered. It also associates a wide range of non-conventional research partners – NGOs, government departments, local councils, etc.
Schéma conceptuel de monitoring adaptatif (d'après Lindenmayer et al. 2011)
One of the keys to the success of observatory and retro-observatory type approaches over the medium and long term is the capacity to include them in an adaptive monitoring process: the ‘development of conceptual models – co-definition of operational questions – co-construction of protocols for data collection, analysis and interpretation’ should be able to evolve steadily in response to new lines of questioning, information acquired or methodological advances without compromising the integrity and coherence of the data corpus.

Moreover, the complexity of socio-ecosystems makes the diversity of approaches to modelling necessary (statistics, mathematics, computer simulation) so as to understand and effectively predict their working, the responses to disturbances and their early effects (emergence of pathogens, modification of ecosystemic services, etc.).

Objectives

The objectives of the LTER Jurassian Arc site are:
• to allow the development of environmental observational database management systems, making sure to develop standards for interoperability of data, so as to make possible coherent monitoring over time, a vision that cuts across the thematic lines of the workshop zone and meshes in with the other workshop zones.
• to describe, model and predict the patterns and processes of variation in space and time of the data collected, through effective collaboration of a core of researchers in mathematics, computer sciences, ecology and epidemiology.
This activity, conducted in a multidisciplinary context with multiple partner organisations, makes it possible both to reply to questions asked and to create the right seeding ground for the emergence of new lines of questioning.

Coordinators : Francis Raoul et Antoine Perasso
Contact : Francis Raoul
Chrono-Environment Laboratory – University of Franche-Comté

Skip to content

Accueil > Thèmes de recherche > Observatoires et modélisation

Observatoires et modélisation

Problématique

Les recherches développées dans la Zone Atelier Arc Jurassien sont caractérisées par la diversité des étendues et des résolutions temporelles et spatiales considérées. Elles associent également une grande variété de partenaires non conventionnels de la recherche -ONG, administrations, collectivités, etc.-.
Schéma conceptuel de monitoring adaptatif (d'après Lindenmayer et al. 2011)
Une des clés du succès des approches de type observatoires et rétro-observatoires sur le moyen et long terme est la capacité à les insérer dans une démarche de monitoring adaptatif : la séquence « développement de modèles conceptuels – co-définition de questions opérationnelles - co-construction des protocoles de récolte, d’analyse et d’interprétation de données » doit pouvoir évoluer régulièrement en réponse à de nouveaux questionnements, informations acquises, ou avancées méthodologiques sans compromettre l’intégrité et la cohérence du corpus de données.

De plus, la complexité des socio-écosystèmes rend nécessaire la diversité des approches de modélisation (statistique, mathématique, informatique) de façon à comprendre et prédire efficacement leur fonctionnement, les réponses aux perturbations et leur effets précoces (émergence de pathogènes, modification des services écosystémiques, etc).

Objectifs

Les objectifs de « l’atelier permanent » sont les suivants :
- Permettre le développement de bases de données observationnelles environnementales, en veillant à utiliser ou développer des standards pour l’interopérabilité des données, afin de rendre possible une cohérence temporelle des suivis, une vision transversale aux axes thématiques de la ZA et une articulation avec les autres ZA.
- Décrire, modéliser et prédire les patterns et processus de variation dans l’espace et dans le temps des données collectées, grâce à la collaboration effective d’un noyau de chercheurs en mathématiques, informatique, écologie et épidémiologie.
Cette activité, menée dans un contexte pluridisciplinaire et pluri-partenaires, permet aussi bien de répondre à des questions posées que de créer le terreau favorable à l’émergence de nouveaux questionnements.

Voir aussi :



Coordinateurs : Francis Raoul et Antoine Perasso
Contact : Francis Raoul
Laboratoire Chrono-environnement - Université de Franche-Comté